+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13
Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By afterbang

Thread: Gas powered custom rc truck

  1. #1
    RC Production Assist
    afterbang started this thread.
    afterbang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Gas powered custom rc truck

    I was thinking about my futur, of being a fabricator/mechanic. I was think about making a 1/3 or 1/4 giant rc gas truck. I was watching a big 5hp rc car some guy made and i liked it. Was thinking on using a 5hp as well. also using a traxxas tq 2.4 ghz 2 channel of if needed a 4 channel from greathobbies.com and two savox sa1230sg digital servo for steering, throttle and brake. (their 500 oz of torque at 6v). The only thing i dont know how to do is how to connect a battery to the reicever and still run my two servos. So i need help with that.


  2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many



    Photobucket

    Click the Banner to come Check Out our Amazing RC Store!
    We Ship World-Wide!

    RCSparks Studio Approved!
     

  3. #2
    Think...

    Crankbait's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    35 feet Up ^
    Posts
    4,303
    Country
    United States
    Images
    17
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Visit Crankbait's Youtube Channel
    Are you asking how to power your servos?

    If yes there is a port on receivers so when they are used on nitro or gas rigs you can plug a pack into them to power the servos.


  4. #3
    RC Production Assist
    afterbang started this thread.
    afterbang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    yes that is what im asking . so on the traxxas tq 2.4 ghz 5 channel receiver that come with a 2 channel radio there is a place for me to plug the battery into


  5. #4
    Think...

    Crankbait's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    35 feet Up ^
    Posts
    4,303
    Country
    United States
    Images
    17
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Visit Crankbait's Youtube Channel
    Yep it should be marked either battery/channel 5 or vcc.


  6. #5
    RC Production Assist
    afterbang started this thread.
    afterbang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    ok thanks do you think 500oz-in of torque is enough to push 10in tires


  7. #6
    Think...

    Crankbait's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    35 feet Up ^
    Posts
    4,303
    Country
    United States
    Images
    17
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Visit Crankbait's Youtube Channel
    That I don't know, but if it isn't you could pick up one of these! -Torxis Rotary Servo Products


  8. #7
    RC Production Assist
    afterbang started this thread.
    afterbang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    i dont think so too much money$$$$$$$$$$


  9. #8
    RC Production Assist
    afterbang started this thread.
    afterbang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Crankbait and ScaleBasher like this.

  10. #9
    RC Production Assist
    afterbang started this thread.
    afterbang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    i just got thinking about how i will break. i have know idea on what kind of breaks to use



  11. #10
    Think...

    Crankbait's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    35 feet Up ^
    Posts
    4,303
    Country
    United States
    Images
    17
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Visit Crankbait's Youtube Channel
    Quote Originally Posted by afterbang View Post
    i just got thinking about how i will break. i have know idea on what kind of breaks to use
    You could use a HPI Baja brake kit and mod it to fit.-Brakes for the HPI Baja - HPI Baja SS


  12. #11
    RC Production Assist
    afterbang started this thread.
    afterbang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    dont thinks its gonna work. i am gonna use a go kart axle so it wont work. so ill have to use a hydraulic brake or a go kart brake like this one Brake Assembly Kit | Princess Auto


  13. #12
    Think...

    Crankbait's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    35 feet Up ^
    Posts
    4,303
    Country
    United States
    Images
    17
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Visit Crankbait's Youtube Channel
    Still should be fairly simple to hook a servo to it.
    Just use a split linkage with a cable and the servo that controls the throttle when reversed activates the brakes.


  14. #13
    RC Production Assist
    afterbang started this thread.
    afterbang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    ya i was thinking im gonna take the motor of my go kart (6.5hp) and replace that with something bigger and use the smaller motor for the car


+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. custom truck
    By hart3_9 in forum FOFF's & Pullers
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-11-13, 1:42 AM
  2. Custom trophy truck 2WD
    By trophy in forum OFF Road Build Projects
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-26-13, 9:25 AM
  3. Replies: 154
    Last Post: 06-09-13, 2:13 PM
  4. OTHER RC Custom Truck Frames
    By Hustlengrind in forum RC Chat, Tutorials, Ideas, Requests, Etc
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-02-12, 10:26 AM
  5. custom rckenx car/truck
    By JR ADDICT in forum RC Chat, Tutorials, Ideas, Requests, Etc
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 11-08-11, 3:00 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts


About this Forum

    The RCSparks Studio is a community designed to promote the Radio Control Hobby and RC ADDiCTS from all around the World!

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook youtube RSS Feed