1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how are they: Quadcopter.

Discussion in 'Multi-Rotor' started by Jackedman, Jan 15, 2013.

1. Jackedman

Jackedman
    Expand Collapse

Im thinking of buying a quadcopter but just want to know if theres anything i should be aware of. are they hard to fly??

2. Giggawattz

Giggawattz
    Expand Collapse
    Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

I'm a complete helicopter noob (other than computer combat heli sims in my youth) and I am loving our new Blade mQX quadcopter. If you are into filming POV style, you may want to look at the AR Drone 2.0 for a simpler introduction to quads. I made a couple of videos (with more to come) if you wanna check them out... they are here:

http://www.rcsparks.com/forum/quad-rotor/18945-blade-mqx-ar-drone-2-0-a.html

3. Jackedman

Jackedman
    Expand Collapse

thanks im still up in the air if i want to make one or not they look like fun to use. ill have to do more research on them and go from there

4. Chunder

Chunder
    Expand Collapse
    Fixer
    ELiTE MEMBER

Difficulty depends on the model. Some are very easy with ridiculous amounts of stabilization built in, some are a good bit more tricky.

It also depends on size you're looking for, and what you want to do with it. Do you want it for stunts, or for a camera platform?

If you're looking for a small indoors one, or one to learn on, get the RC EYE Logger. I have one and it's amazing, with multiple sensitivity settings. On the two easier modes, it's a kitten, but on as I call it the ANGRY mode, it rips around.
    [video=youtube;AYW65e474ww]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AYW65e474ww[/video]
    It's the only tiny one I've seen using a 2 cell lipo instead of a 1s, and it's the cheapest one I've seen yet.

We had 20 in our store and they sold out in under 2 days. They're great to learn on.