1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using Styrene, Styrene Tips and Tricks

Discussion in 'Mods, Paint & Fabrication' started by LetsGoMuddin, May 23, 2012.

1. LetsGoMuddin

LetsGoMuddin New Member

Hey guys id like to use styrene for a project but i've never used it before. how am i able to glue styrene together so its strong? is styrene strong? i think ive seen people use it to make there own truck bodies, what type of styrene would i use for doing this kinda work? thanks alot for the help!

2. fordguy8790

fordguy8790 Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

I've wondered about using styrene myself and would love to see something about it too.

3. Crankbait

Crankbait Think...
    ELiTE MEMBER

Me 3.
    Never used it.

Scratch that, I love to use it after I tried!

#3 Crankbait, May 23, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2012
  4. WeeManWTF

WeeManWTF New Member

I REALLY want to try some work with it. So many things I want to do. I want to learn to braze too.

5. Flex

Flex New Member

my brother used it all the time mostly for shoves axes ext..
    he would use supper glue but it doesnt hold up very good on things like his the body.
    Couldn't really think of anything else to glue it together.

6. 4mods

4mods Super Moderator
    Staff Member SUPER MODERATOR

There is a glue called Pro weld. It will melt the plastic together giving it a really good bond when doing this. If you want to bend the styrene you can use a hair dryer to form the stuff pretty good, a heat gun works as well but you can melt stuff faster. Hope this little bit of info helps out.

7. Danboard

Danboard Friendly ENFORCER
    SUPER MODERATOR

I used Plastruct Bondene for "welding" styrene together:

[​IMG]

Be warned that it smells awful! If you are going to work with this kind of cement, make sure to have proper ventilation in your area and that you are wearing a mask so you will not inhale the fumes.