1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A Whole Bunch Of Newby Questions?

Discussion in 'Newbie Q & A' started by ChevyBot, Jan 7, 2014.

1. ChevyBot

ChevyBot New Member

Hey guys,
    I'm new to RC and I May be purchasing the Axial SCX10 in the near future. Anyways, is a BEC necessary or mandatory to have for this kind of rig? What about the RC4WD TF2 or Gelande II? Any help will be much appreciated!

Also, which SCX10 in your opinion, looks the best, handles the best, works the best? This is all just your opinion!

And finally, What motor goes well in the SCX10?

2. Greenie

Greenie VillAge iDioT
    ELiTE MEMBER

depends,
    only REALLY need a BEC if your running a lot, like a winch, lights and so on.
    If you just running motor/ESC, and steering servo, you normally good to go without one.

from my outtings with SCX-10s, the longer wheel base ones do better, so like the Honcho over my Dingo.
    But I think the Dingo looks better

3. ChevyBot

ChevyBot New Member

Well I was planning on having lights and a winch so a BEC would be a good investment?

Where is a good place to buy electronics and a waterproof servo?

4. Crankbait

Crankbait Think...
    ELiTE MEMBER

A couple more to add

-if you are going to run over 2s
    -If your servo will handle the 7.4v of a 2s and you wan't the extra turning torque.
    The Hitec 5646wp for example has 157oz/in at 6.0v but 179oz/in at 7.4v

The Axial AE2 ESC has an internal bec set at 5.0v which isn't using the full potential of the servo.

Even the stock Axial as-3 servo is capable of 6.0v
    Another popular waterproof servo is the Traxxas 2075 it to runs best on 6.0v

So as [MENTION=1737]Greenie[/MENTION] stated you are normally ok without one, but to get the max out of most servos a bec is a good
    bet.

5. ChevyBot

ChevyBot New Member

What is a 2s? Like I said I'm new to RC so I don't know what most of the terms are

6. Crankbait