1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Calling all drifters !! Need help for choosing a setup !!

Discussion in 'ON Road Build Projects' started by crazzybiker, Jan 2, 2014.

1. crazzybiker

crazzybiker New Member

Hey Guys and Gals,

I am looking to get into drifting. I am a total noob to when it comes to road cars and the drifting scene. I have do my fair share of research on chassis and how much I want to spend. I will be running in my basement (smooth concrete floors) for fun and may get out and do a drift comp for fun if edmonton ever has one. I have a narrowed it down to two chassis with a budget of $400 dollars to start.

1. MST MS-01D RTR

Really nice looking chassis, huge aftermarket and spare parts support, comes with a pre-painted tamiya body. Price $260-300
    2.3racing Sakura D3 CS Drift

Comes with everything to make it run, has the spur gear upgrade, and graphite chassis upgrade with aluminum arms. Price $350

So which do I choose ? Am I better off going with a 50/50 setup or should I bite the bullit and get the CS setup ? Or should I just wait a week and get both setups ? haha :haveaniceday:

2. BigMike81

BigMike81 Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

What about a HPI Sprint 2. Come rtr at under 400. Or a Vaterra Camaro ss brushless at around 370 rtr.

3. crazzybiker

crazzybiker New Member

I have considered an hpi but I read a lot of reviews and seems those have a lot of issues. Even driftmission when comparing it to other chassis says the layout of it is wrong and it does have a lot of issue. I do like custom setup a but don't want to spend more time tinkering with it then driving it. I am not a fan of the vaterra layout either, seems all the weight is too the back.