1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Covering a vintage optima buggy to brushless

Discussion in 'Buggy Madness' started by Bigplow, Dec 27, 2017.

1. Bigplow

Bigplow New Member

Looking at getting aa vintage buggy and converting it over to modern electrics probably brushless and Def lipo I want it to compete in speed with a revo brushless just a thought now and it will be a tight budget project is there any problems I will find I am new to rc I do have a couple crawlers but nothing fast

Little Rascle likes this.
  2. Antho11

Antho11 Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

Media:
    I don't think that's a good idea because the Optima buggy wasn't designed with that in mind. Moderate brushless and lipo power is okay, but more than that you'll probably grenade the transmission. Especially trying to get Revo power. You would have better luck getting the rerelease which is more durable and can handle more power.

buttm0nk3y and walter like this.
  3. Gromit

Gromit Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

I agree with Antho. Just restored my own orginal 1988 Turbo Optima to running condition, using some modern electronics. I like the idea that it still does what it was made to do, but i have no intention to compete with modern buggies, even though the re-release should make it easier to get spare parts.
    Considering what else you need to get everything going, I wonder if hopping up an old Optima would really be that much cheaper than a modern RTR buggy. I don't know enough about modern buggies to make any recommedations, but I'm sure you're in good company here to find some good ideas.

4. Bigplow

Bigplow New Member

Ok thanks I am new to brushless so how much power can I put to it

5. Antho11

ELiTE MEMBER

Media: