1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi from Down Under, Melbs!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself!' started by CRACKLES 76, Jun 2, 2017.

1. CRACKLES 76

CRACKLES 76 Member

Hi guys great to be here I'm relatively new to the world of RC. My first taste was over 30 years ago when I got a Jet Hopper for Christmas. It took the AA batteries in the underneath compartment and they lasted what felt like 5 mins lol. As you can imagine back then batteries weren't cheap and after the 3rd set died my folks said they wouldn't be replacing them...
    So the Jet Hopper got thrown into the closet never to be seen again.
    Ugh!
    Fast forward to last February when a friend on fb put up a sale thread of all his junk as he was moving interstate.
    I bought his 3 month old Traxxas Slash 2WD for my 14 year old son who had mentioned late last year an RC would be cool... It had the brushed Titan 12T motor and XL-5 ESC. The motor was crunchy but everything was there and he dropped it off to my house in a large plastic box. He wanted $250 in pieces. I told him $200 and he had to put it back together lol. He agreed
    I researched the motor and found that most people didn't think too much of them and I got a few pointers on extending the motor's life. It wasn't crunchy any more so I had a win!
    After it's first battery pack we agreed that something had to be done about traction. The stock tyres just weren't up for the job of keeping the thing straight. A set of Louise Pioneers soon fixed that! It was a dream to drive! We both loved it and it performed EXACTLY like a short course truck should. Sideways and lifting the inside front wheel through the turns yet completely controllable on full throttle thanks to the wheel/tyre upgrade. Happy days!!
    The motor lasted 3-4 more NiMH batteries before giving up completely...
    Right!!