1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hobbywing 1040 or 1060?

Discussion in 'Trail Truck Electronics' started by scalemadness, Jun 21, 2016.

  1. scalemadness

    scalemadness Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    907
    Likes Received:
    612
    Was just cruising ebay looking for a esc as backup when one of my four fail and found the two mentioned for less than $20cdn which is better? They will be used in a tf2, cc01 or scx10 max input 2s lipo all my trucks utilize cc bec's so that is a non issue just looking for opinions from those who have them and their major differences
     
  2. Magnat007

    Magnat007 Proud SCX10 Owner
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,470
    Media:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3,315
    The 1040 and the 1060 are pretty much the same ESC with the 1060 apparently being the new version. The 1040 is supposed to be a 40amp ESC and the 1060 a 60amp ESC but strangely all the info I can find states that they both have the same motor turn limits.

    The 1060 can run down to a 12T motor on 2S or an 18T on 3S
    The 860 is the dual motored version..(Which I am running in single motor form)

    Now the 1060 does have a drag brake but it is not adjustable.. Its either on or off.
    To engage it.. you remove the Jumper from the Drive mode entirely.. Then you have Forwards and Backwards modes only with Drag Brake..
     
  3. scalemadness

    scalemadness Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    907
    Likes Received:
    612
    It appears to be the same esc found in the vaterra ascender which is labled dynamite but is twice the price of the hobbywing
     
  4. Magnat007

    Magnat007 Proud SCX10 Owner
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,470
    Media:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3,315
    Would not surprise me if it even came out of the same factory as the Axial AE-5 ESC.
     
  5. PoorManRC

    PoorManRC Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Media:
    12
    Likes Received:
    12
    The AE-3 and AE-5 are made by Castle. Both are adjusted with my Castle Link...
     
  6. walter

    walter Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    4,209
    Likes Received:
    2,349
    AE-5 is not made by Castle
     
  7. PoorManRC

    PoorManRC Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Media:
    12
    Likes Received:
    12
    My bad... I meant AE-2 and AE-3.

    I had just bought a WP-10BL60..... and had to hunt down the programming card for it.
    I got a little number tied!!! :b:
     
    walter likes this.

Share This Page