1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How can I see if a motor works

Discussion in 'Newbie Q & A' started by Snow1223, Dec 28, 2015.

1. Snow1223

Snow1223 New Member

Long story short I found a Traxxas slash in the garbage where I work. It is a Traxxas slash vxl. How can I test the electronics without a remote. I really don't want to go out and buy a remote I just want to see if the electronics work so I can sell it. I have very little experience with rc stuff so any help would be appreciated.

2. SEK494

SEK494 Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

Without a remote there is very little you can test. with a brushed motor you can hook it directly to a battery and it will spin. With a brushless (Three Wire) you need a controller and battery. You could take it apart and free spin the motor and make sure it spins freely. It may have a little resistance. Make sure the pin does not move in and out of motor housing. Thats about all you could do.

My opinion, check to see peices are broke. If not, invest in a remote. Could always use it on somthing else. you just need a cheap two channel 2.4ghz.

3. Spence123

Spence123 Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

Media: