1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Monster Slash Steering problems, Please help

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself!' started by Green machine, Jun 29, 2016.

  1. Green machine

    Green machine New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Everyone, My name is John G.
    So I have a Slash Ultimate that I was able to purchase back in January for my local indoor track. Month or so ago I turned it into a monster slash. Used the same tires Mr. Medic did. Last week the steering started acting up. It will turn, but makes really wide turns. I took it apart cleaned it, centered the servo, put the horn were the digram told me and will turn on the table, but when put down on the ground to run has alot of trouble turning those tires and not as wide when in my hands. I did put that rpm skid plate on it after I broke the first one it holds the two steering cylinders on it and does a really good job keep debree out. Thankyou for your time, John G.
     
  2. Monkeypiarat

    Monkeypiarat Worlds formost authority on my own opinion
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2,542
    Likes Received:
    1,293
  3. jdrada18

    jdrada18 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    14
    Is a glitch buster a BEC?
     
  4. Monkeypiarat

    Monkeypiarat Worlds formost authority on my own opinion
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2,542
    Likes Received:
    1,293
    no they are not the same ....
    I believe that the glitch buster is a capacitor...
    that regulates electricity ...through current modulation..

    and a BEC is battery Elimination Circuit ...
    that regulates through where power is being drawn from....

    maybe @lout or @00whynot ,,,
    could better explain if you could pm one of them ..
    and tell them MONKEYPIARATE said...
    he dose not know enough to help you make a fully informed decision ...
     
  5. jdrada18

    jdrada18 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    14
    If I wanted to put a high power servo on a scx10 would it be alright to just use a glitch buster or do I need a BEC
     
  6. Monkeypiarat

    Monkeypiarat Worlds formost authority on my own opinion
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2,542
    Likes Received:
    1,293
    I believe that I would try the needed servo .. and see if it causes a brown out issues ,,
    the savox monster torque servo has never caused me any issues ....

    only on one occasion when I was running...
    a full light set ... the monster torque .... powering a camera gimbal ...
    and also with an extra servo for a actual steering driver
    on the same channel as the monster torque...
    I have not addressed the issue because...
    I was just test and I never use all the components at once
    or had the issue happen again ...

    try the needed servo and not the results first ...
    to be able to ask for the correct solution from the ore expert members ..
    if their is indeed a problem after you try it ..
    it is harder for me to fix a problem that has not happened .
     
    #7 Monkeypiarat, Jul 15, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2016
  7. jdrada18

    jdrada18 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    14
    Will do thanks for the advice. I plan on doing a kit for the first time so its my first time buying a servo and I do not have much knowledge on the subject of servos and why some may need BECs and what not.
     
  8. Monkeypiarat

    Monkeypiarat Worlds formost authority on my own opinion
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2,542
    Likes Received:
    1,293
    I am limited in my knowledge but their are members ,,
    that I believe are more expert in their knowledge of the specific need for the external bec or the use of a glitch buster ...
    my experience has been that I have used the savox monster torque servo ..
    on my maxstone 5 because of the 40 series tires that I run ...
    and my maxstone 10 that weighed 12 lbs ...
    with all the accessories and mods that I added ....
    I chose the savox monster torque servo because ..
    it can operate on 4.8v and deliver 416 inch pounds of torque ...
    and at 6v will deliver 500 inch pounds ....
    the drawback is the 74 dollar price for the servo...
    and on the maxstone 10 I spent 35 dollars ...
    fabricating an formula off road style servo saver to protect my investment...
    so far I have not needed to purchase any servos....
    for the stone 10 or the stone 5 ... for two years ...
    and at the rate I was eating servos ...
    the sg1230 have both paid for them selves several times over ...
    the only thing is that I would not put these servos on any thing I plan on selling..
    or any thing that goes faster than 50 miles an hour .....
    because of the splat factor with any servo..
     
  9. Monkeypiarat

    Monkeypiarat Worlds formost authority on my own opinion
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2,542
    Likes Received:
    1,293
    there are plenty servos available with plenty of torque that are very affordable ..
    with out going to the extreme that I chose .. that will best suit YOUR needs ...
    and that are very durable ... I just have never owned any other servos ...
    that lasted more that a month that could honestly say their worth...
    I am very hard on servos but not had to buy any for two years ...
     
  10. jdrada18

    jdrada18 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    14
    Okay thank you for the information.
     
  11. jdrada18

    jdrada18 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    14
    I just want something for the new scx10 2 kit the will be durable and is strong enough to turn 2.2s
     
  12. Monkeypiarat

    Monkeypiarat Worlds formost authority on my own opinion
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2,542
    Likes Received:
    1,293
    2.2 on an scx10 should not be that great of a problem ...
    I am sure that some of the member that own an scx10 .. will have excellent recommendations to fit your needs. @Magnat007 :)
     
    jdrada18 likes this.
  13. Magnat007

    Magnat007 Proud SCX10 Owner
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,472
    Media:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3,318
    2.2's on an SCX10 II
    OK your going to be looking at a high torque and high powered Servo.
    Look for a servo that is rated at at least 12kg/cm (145+ oz/in)

    Budget Choices : TowerPro or Towardpro MG996R
    Hobbyking High Torque Servo MG/BB W/Proof 12.8kg / 0.22sec / 58g

    Next Level up would be a Turnigy MX-355 Waterproof Servo.

    A BEC is not 100 % essential with the low ends steering servo's but as you get up to the Digital and coreless servo's then it is highly recommended. (They are low end so dont expect superior performance)
    Most Savox servo's will require an external BEC..
     
    lout likes this.
  14. lout

    lout Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,794
    Media:
    58
    Likes Received:
    2,129
    If your wondering whether you will need a BEC or not have a look at the load rating of the servo. It will tell you the max amps that the servo will pull. Such as 3.2A

    Next have a look at your ESC and see what the max current supplies by the BEC is eg 3.0A

    In the above example you should get a BEC. It's close and you may get away with it but the rule of thumb is if what you supplying is less that what you need you will need a BEC.
     
  15. Magnat007

    Magnat007 Proud SCX10 Owner
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,472
    Media:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3,318
    Not all servo's have that info.. The lower end ones don't lol..
     
  16. 00whynot

    00whynot Moderator
    Staff Member MODERATOR

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3,861
    Media:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1,130
    it sounds to me like the built in servo saver is to weak. i know for a fact they are rubbish. try jamming some spacers under the spring in it to tighten it up. that is where i think your having your problem.
     

Share This Page