1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New to the RC world, could I get some help in this thread?(ECX Torment)

Discussion in 'Newbie Q & A' started by Emblurr, Feb 7, 2013.

1. Emblurr

Emblurr New Member

Hey all

I just purchased my first hobby grade rc :ninja: Thanks to medic for making awesome videos, without him I wouldn't have seen the fun I was missing. Before I continue, I just want to say I am COMPLETELY new to all of this, so apologies in advance if I ask some no brainers.

I knew right away I could not afford a $400 crawler but I wanted something rugged, and the more off road the better. I browsed a whole list of hobby sites and mostly due to my price limitation and the numerous positive reviews, I chose the ECX Torment 1/10 sct. I liked the added ground clearance it has because I don't (to my knowledge) have a short course track in my city, but I do have a lot of snow in the winter and windy trails nearby. I looked into it and saw EXC offers a new version, with a 15t brushed motor instead of the 20t, along with upgrades to the drive shafts, waterproofing and a couple other things. Again, being a complete RC newb, I looked around as best as I could, and the Torment seemed right for the price and the driving conditions I want to do. It cost me just over $200cdn

So, with that being said:

1: Would you recommend the torment to someone looking to get into the off roading side of RC? Did I make a good choice? here are the specs:

Dynamite® waterproof Tazer™ 15T ESC
    ECX™ 2.4GHz radio system
    Dynamite 15T motor
    Dynamite 2-amp peak charger included
    Dynamite Speedpack™ 1800mAh Ni-MH battery included
    Waterproof Dynamite servo
    Upgraded driveshafts
    ESC and battery come pre-wired with high-current EC3™ connector
    Nylon composite chassis and parts
    Adjustable oil-filled shocks
    2WD transmission with gear differential