1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New velineon system

Discussion in 'Short Course' started by neverquit, Jun 13, 2014.

  1. neverquit

    neverquit New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Slash 2wd and just upgraded the motor to the velineon vxl-3s(3355r). After installing it, my esc is blinking green rapidly. I am rather new to adjusting things with RCs and I read that it is the throttle trim. However, when attempting to change that, I failed miserably. If anyone can help, I'd greatly appreciate it.
     
  2. Crankbait

    Crankbait Think...
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4,428
    Likes Received:
    58
    Welcome to the forums.

    What was the failure?
     
  3. Crankbait

    Crankbait Think...
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4,428
    Likes Received:
    58
    Try setting your trims to zero and recalibrate the set up
     
  4. RustyWrench

    RustyWrench ...I Always Edit...
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,332
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    787
    #4 RustyWrench, Jun 13, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2014
  5. neverquit

    neverquit New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you.

    When going through the step by step for the throttle trim on the transmitter, I feel like I did everything right. But when I go to turn the esc on, it still blinks green rapidly. I don't know what I am doing wrong, it seems to be pretty simple for the throttle trim adjusting.
     
  6. RustyWrench

    RustyWrench ...I Always Edit...
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,332
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    787
    There should be a knob on your transmitter that says TH Trim... that is your throttle trim knob turn it slowly until the ESC stops blinking green... If that doesn't work then center your TH Trim knob and re set your end points by re programming your ESC

    VXL-3s Setup Programming
    (Calibrating your ESC and transmitter)
    Read through all of the programming steps before you
    begin. If you get lost during programming or receive
    unexpected results, simply unplug the battery, wait a few
    seconds, plug the battery back in, and start over.

    1. Connect a fully charged battery
    pack to the VXL-3s.

    2. Turn on the transmitter (with the
    throttle at neutral).

    3. Press and hold the EZ-Set
    button. The LED will first
    turn green and then red.
    Release the EZ-Set button.

    4. When the LED blinks RED
    ONCE. Pull the throttle trigger
    to the full throttle position and
    hold it there.

    5. When the LED blinks RED
    TWICE. Push the throttle trigger to
    the full reverse and hold it there.

    6. When the LED blinks GREEN ONCE,
    programming is complete. The LED will then shine green
    or red (depending on low-voltage detection setting)
    indicating the VXL-3s is on and at neutral.




    Dean
     
    #6 RustyWrench, Jun 13, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2014
  7. neverquit

    neverquit New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only knobs on my transmitter are: steering trim and multi-function. I'm not sure what else I can try out.
     
  8. RustyWrench

    RustyWrench ...I Always Edit...
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,332
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    787
    Multi Function??? What Tx do you have? Maybe just try recalibrating following the steps I posted above...
     
  9. neverquit

    neverquit New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    After following the steps 1-3 and releasing the ez-set button, instead of going to the red light, it starts blinking green rapidly. Therefore, I can't get to finish out the other steps. My transmitter is a Traxxas TQi 2.4 2 channel.
     
  10. RustyWrench

    RustyWrench ...I Always Edit...
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,332
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    787
    #10 RustyWrench, Jun 13, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2014
  11. neverquit

    neverquit New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't use the iPhone on it. Weird thing is that when I put the motors cord on channel 1 in the receiver box, it will work. The problem with that, of course, is the steering wheel on the receiver then controls everything.

    I feel that my receiver is bad. I checked the chips on the backside and and some were corroded.
     
    #11 neverquit, Jun 14, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2014
  12. dsjohnson

    dsjohnson New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I remember correctly I had a similar issue, only slot 1 and 3 need to be used on the reciever. If you plug either in other than slot 1 and 3 it will do this
     
  13. inthepit

    inthepit Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    18
    Like dsjohnson said, make sure you are using the 1st slot at the bottom for the steering servo, and the third from the bottom for the other wire. The bottom 2 are both for steering servos so if you have both plugged into those two it could be your issue
     
  14. neverquit

    neverquit New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have them in the first and third spot for sure. I had read that in the manual, but still somehow the throttle doesn't want to work. I really do think its the receiver itself because of the corrosion I found. I'm going to go ahead and buy one to see if that fixes it. *fingers crossed*

    Thanks for all the help and ideas guys.
     

Share This Page