1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Phat axles? Anyone have them? Thoughts on them?

Discussion in 'Newbie Q & A' started by Scratch, Apr 11, 2016.

1. Scratch

Scratch Well-Known Member

So hello all, I'm new to this hobby and to the site as a member anyway.. and I've seen these axles from BOOM RACING, called PHAT AXLES.. They are a steel housing replacement for plastic ones and i was wondering if anyone could give me input on them and their opinions of them? I have googled them and youtubed them and have found a few things but thought id ask on here. I do trailing mostly and newbie crawling (if there is such a thing) .. My thought is that they will help get the weight low in the rig and metal would be stronger than plastic as i seem to break or strip plastic things rather easily even though i am careful with tightening screws.. Thanks, Scratch[​IMG]

2. Spence123

Spence123 Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

Media:
    People seem to like them:
    steel axles are better than aluminium or plastic, aluminium axles are pricey and they crack
    people really seem to like them if you sift through the comments in the video posted above:)
    I mean real 4x4's have solid steel axle housings, like the currie axles or dana 60's. I haven't owned a set of these so I can't say for the quality, but they look like they are nicely made.
    Got 2 5 star ratings of Asiatees:https://www.asiatees.com/display?Ax...l&model=SCX10&id=116804&pid=1#customer-review
    But they may be cast so I am not sure about durability, I am hunting around for reviews and what not. I mean they sounds pretty good people seem to like them..

I may let the other pro members on this forum chime in on their thoughts about the axles, but in my opinion, plastic axles are ok, alloy is pricey and not too great, and I think they should make them steel like a real truck.