1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rs4 sport 3 brushless darting off to side under hard acceleration?help please, im a newbie

Discussion in 'Race - Newbe Q' started by billclinton, Jul 20, 2016.

1. billclinton

billclinton New Member

Media:
    Please help, i drag race my rs4 sport 3, it runs a tenshock 550 5000kv 120a esc, 81 spur, 37 pinion, locked front and rear, gyro tuned way down. The issue is wh3n i accelerates hard the tires hop bad, and it darts off the road, does any1 know what causes this? Is it the suspension? Too soft of too stiff? Ive tried a few things and cant figure it out. Thanks

#1 billclinton, Jul 20, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2016
  2. Magnat007

Magnat007 Proud SCX10 Owner
    ELiTE MEMBER

Media:
    Sometimes its just a case of too much power for the chassis..
    All RC Cars have a power limit.. Like real cars..
    As soon as you try and dump too much power into the vehicle your power to weight ratio goes out of balance.
    Its really hard to get the Ideal balance..
    The tyres that are going to offer you maximum Grip (Foams) will get destroyed on every 2nd pass you make down the strip.

What compound are you running at the moment for the drag strip..

3. billclinton

billclinton New Member

Media:
    Very cheap leaf pattern tires from ebay, if u do a small burnout b4 u race they get hella sticky, all tires ive tried so far have only lasted 4 passes tops, my best et so far is with the leaf tires, the hpi x pattern second. i have wider formula 1 slicks on the way tho. All my tires are taped. Do u think its too much power? Or tires? Others with similar set ups are going even faster than me? I havent tried foam tires yet.

4. Y2daT

Y2daT Over Powered RC
    ELiTE MEMBER

if the tires are skiping try to incorporate a rear sway bar ... it will help lots ...