1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SCX10 Runs in short burst.

Discussion in 'Newbie Q & A' started by SEK494, Apr 24, 2016.

  1. SEK494

    SEK494 Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    44
    I've been fooling with RC's for a few years, So this one really has me stumped.

    I bought a used SCX10 with the AE-5 (ran on NiMH) on April 5th. I ran it the next day. It ran perfectly fine. I sat it in my closet and a few days ago I got it out again. When I got it out the second time, I first started having problems with it running in short burst. Give it throttle and it runs for about five seconds then stops. After about three seconds I can do it all over again. I got a freshly charged battery and put it in the truck. Same thing. Controller lights don't blink, so they should be okay. I cant think of anything that has changed. So why do I have throttle trouble?
     
  2. DivineChaos

    DivineChaos Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Messages:
    2,847
    Likes Received:
    633
    Is their any binding? Try a different battery. Try a different esc. (possibly the motor or esc)

    Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
     
  3. BenFink

    BenFink Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    509
    Media:
    8
    Likes Received:
    143
    Its sounds like a problem between your ESC and motor, the esc is sending power to the receiver so the battery, esc, and reciever should be ok. There is a small chance your transmitter is acting up, or its a faulty connection with the motor and ESC.
     
    DivineChaos likes this.
  4. Malickie

    Malickie Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    27
    Edit: Just noticed you said your running Nimh. My guess is the previous owner may have been running on Lipo and the Jumper on that ESC is most likely set to Lipo, you have to make sure to set the jumper to Nimh or else you will get that exact issue, only reason I know this is because I have an SCX10 II that has the same ESC and I ran into that exact issue. Would run, than come to a complete stop, and I remember it running fine and was scratching my head for a few and went and checked the jumper sure enough I had the jumper in Lipo setting.
     
  5. RustyWrench

    RustyWrench ...I Always Edit...
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,332
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    787
    I agree. Recalibrate your ESC, make sure LiPo mode is off and see if your still having problems.




    Dean
     
  6. scott3739

    scott3739 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Media:
    5
    Likes Received:
    11
    Need some help my scx10 11 won't respond to my remote won't steer sometimes throttle works but most of the time it's trying to move forward or reverse by itself
     
  7. RustyWrench

    RustyWrench ...I Always Edit...
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,332
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    787
    Can you make a short video of the issue? Kind of sounds like a Rx problem. check and make sure all your wiring in plugged in correctly also make sure there are no nics cut or frays in the wiring.


    What Rx do you have in there?
     
  8. scott3739

    scott3739 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Media:
    5
    Likes Received:
    11
    Now it won't do anything I noticed the receiver would blink then turn off and while it's blink the truck is going crazy also if I move wires on the receiver it will allow me to use the steering wheel as throttle but no steering.... I don't understand I was going along fine I stopped for about 5 minutes and the truck started jerk ingredients around forward and reverse I'm new to rc as well
     
  9. scott3739

    scott3739 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Media:
    5
    Likes Received:
    11
    Now it won't do anything I noticed the receiver would blink then turn off and while it's blinking the truck is going crazy also if I move wires on the receiver it will allow me to use the steering wheel as throttle but no steering.... I don't understand I was going along fine I stopped for about 5 minutes and the truck started jerking around forward and reverse I'm new to rc as well
     
  10. Polaris425

    Polaris425 Moderator
    MODERATOR ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2016
    Messages:
    2,071
    Media:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3,455
    Fresh batteries in the Tx?
     
  11. scott3739

    scott3739 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Media:
    5
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yea I thought at first that was the problem changed em and nothing
    How do I add a picture while using my phone
     
  12. scott3739

    scott3739 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Media:
    5
    Likes Received:
    11
    Tactic tr325 3 channel receiver
     
  13. scott3739

    scott3739 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Media:
    5
    Likes Received:
    11
    I just found that if I unplug the steering servo? The receiver stays lit up and I have all control as soon as I plug the steering servo in it goes crazy
     
  14. RustyWrench

    RustyWrench ...I Always Edit...
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,332
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    787
    Have you changed out the Servo? It is possible that the servo is drawing too many amps and causing brown outs. What servo do you have in there?
     
  15. scott3739

    scott3739 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Media:
    5
    Likes Received:
    11
    Stock servo that came with the truck I think tactic was on the side of the case
    Now the remote won't do anything the receiver isn't lit up and when I try to bind it just turns back off
     
  16. scott3739

    scott3739 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Media:
    5
    Likes Received:
    11
    I pulled the batteries from the remote a while ago hoping it like resets or something
     

Share This Page