1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

scx10 under powered?

Discussion in 'Studio Discussions' started by flyro1000, Aug 18, 2014.

  1. flyro1000
    Instant PM

    flyro1000 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello,
    i have a scx10 jeep Rubicon.... when i give it full power and give the servo full deflection either way the truck shudders and stops... it will resume working after around 3 seconds.
    it will do this if the battery is fully charged or near empty, i believe the high voltage servo is putting too much stress on the receiver/esc.
    it has a rooster crwaler esc, 27t team orion motor, savox servo, spectrum surface reciver, hpi racing plazma 4300mah batter 7.2v.
    any help appreciated
    Jacob
     
  2. thecowboy
    Instant PM

    thecowboy Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    1
    Savox servos pull a lot of amp's you need a bec. I had the same problem and a bec fixed the problem.
     
  3. flyro1000
    Instant PM

    flyro1000 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    okay what bec do you recomend?
     
  4. Demon2236
    Instant PM

    Demon2236 Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    7
    you should check out the castle bec try google
     
  5. flyro1000
    Instant PM

    flyro1000 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah i check out the castle 10 amp bec... would you recommend it?
     
  6. summitnut
    Instant PM

    summitnut Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2,077
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    357
    I run two savox 1270tg off the castle bec.
    Works flawless now was glitchy before.
    They need clean power to work properly.I would recommend it.
    [​IMG]
     
  7. thecowboy
    Instant PM

    thecowboy Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    1
    +1 for the castle 10A bec.
     
  8. Greenie
    Instant PM

    Greenie VillAge iDioT
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    8,005
    Likes Received:
    251
    a glitch buster will help if you have one, if not, like stated above, a BEC will solve the issue
     
  9. flyro1000
    Instant PM

    flyro1000 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    will a glitch buster replace the bec?
    by the way i have a single Savox SW-0231MG
     
  10. Greenie
    Instant PM

    Greenie VillAge iDioT
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    8,005
    Likes Received:
    251
    a BEC is a better way to go. it wont replace a BEC, but it will help. only mentioned it in case you have a glitch buster on hand.
    I use a glitch buster in my race truck, for the very same reason, my savox is too power hungry, and I don't want a BEC in the race truck. so....yeah... I guess....maybe... it could replace a BEC....... ummmm.....now you have me thinking...... hummmmmmmm......

    where are the smart electronic peeps at??? they'll actually understand the difference.......
    ....as far as I know, a glitch buster is a capacitor, storing a little more power, and feeds it to the RX, where a BEC, will take power from the battery directly, to power the RX separately, instead of getting power from the ESC....
     
  11. summitnut
    Instant PM

    summitnut Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2,077
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    357
    In my opinion a glitch buster is a bandaid solution in some cases.
    For you if you don't plan on adding anything else lights winch etc a glitch buster may do the job.
     
  12. RustyWrench
    Instant PM

    RustyWrench ...I Always Edit...
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,289
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    717
    There are other solutions to glitch busters aka Power Caps. If a BEC doesn't fix the problem then it could be a erroneous signal, this type of signal can jump between parallel wires in your RC. One fix for this is Ferrite Beads (there are many different types make sure you get the correct one if you are going to try this) also you can twist or braid the wires going to and from the Rx... Only use these suggestions if the BEC doesn't solve your problem...
     
  13. flyro1000
    Instant PM

    flyro1000 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think I'm going yo buy a castle 10 amp bec.... I heard you need to program them is that correct?
     
  14. summitnut
    Instant PM

    summitnut Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2,077
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    357
    Yes it needs to be set to 6v output depending on your servo requirements
     
  15. flyro1000
    Instant PM

    flyro1000 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    okay, my esc outputs 6v and 5 amps as the bec.... is my servo (savox) drawing more than 6 volts and 5 amps?
     
  16. walter
    Instant PM

    walter Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    3,224
    Likes Received:
    1,090
    I think it is the extra 5 amps of the castle bec
     
  17. summitnut
    Instant PM

    summitnut Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2,077
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    357
    6v is fine is may be drawing more than 5 amps momentarily under stall load causing brown outs.
     
  18. flyro1000
    Instant PM

    flyro1000 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    okay... it definitely is browning out so i'll get a cc 10 amp bec on order :D
    thanks guys you have really helped me get in to the hobby of trailing :D
     
  19. flyro1000
    Instant PM

    flyro1000 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    so you are recommending 6 volts and 10 amps?
     
  20. summitnut
    Instant PM

    summitnut Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2,077
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    357
    Set to 6v.It will supply whatever amps are required up to 10 amps(you won't come close to that)on its own
     

Share This Page