1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AXIAL The Stocker

Discussion in 'Scale Build Projects' started by Cokedriver, Apr 27, 2015.

  1. Cokedriver

    Cokedriver Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    123
    Media:
    56
    Likes Received:
    42
    OK will switch it this weekend thanks for the tip
     
  2. jaloos

    jaloos Mod, Staff Member and Ghetto Fabricator
    MODERATOR

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,959
    Media:
    133
    Likes Received:
    187
    That may be but the small wires are causing brown outs, its like trying to reduce a 1 inch pipe down to 1/4 inch and expect the same water flow through it.
    That battery pack is capable of producing 150 amps or more, that equates to around 1100 watts.
     
  3. jaloos

    jaloos Mod, Staff Member and Ghetto Fabricator
    MODERATOR

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,959
    Media:
    133
    Likes Received:
    187
    Just an FYI as well a fully charged 2s lipo sits at 8.4 volts and max discharge voltage for a 2s lipo is 6.4 volts.

    Any higher or lower voltages will result in damage to the pack and possibly a lipo fire.
     
  4. Cokedriver

    Cokedriver Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    123
    Media:
    56
    Likes Received:
    42
    I'll replace that red wire.
    Is my BEC at 6.5 volts enough or should I bump it up?

    Also I have my LED's in the third channel and I'm running the flysky gt3b is there a way to be able to turn them on and off with the third channel button?

    Was thinking if its day time I really don't need them on maybe save the battery for longer run times.

    And thank you for the advice and help.
    Coke
     
  5. jaloos

    jaloos Mod, Staff Member and Ghetto Fabricator
    MODERATOR

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,959
    Media:
    133
    Likes Received:
    187
    How do you have the bec wired in?
    Is it powering the whole system or just the servo?

    If it is powering the whole system did you pull the red wire from the speed control plug to the receiver?
     
  6. jaloos

    jaloos Mod, Staff Member and Ghetto Fabricator
    MODERATOR

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,959
    Media:
    133
    Likes Received:
    187
    The way I wire up my BEC's is to power the servo only and let the bec in the speed control power the receiver.
    This isolates the power going to the servo and lets you set the voltage for what the servo can handle rather than what the receiver can handle wich is typically 6 volts max (unless you have a high power receiver which the flysky systems are not).

    This is a typical diagram of how I do it.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. jaloos

    jaloos Mod, Staff Member and Ghetto Fabricator
    MODERATOR

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,959
    Media:
    133
    Likes Received:
    187
    And no you can't control the lights with the 3rd channel on the flysky receiver without using some form of light control unit.

    I wouldn't worry about saving the power as the LED's do not use enough power to worry about.

    I would however caution you as to make sure you DO NOT leave the battery plugged in when not in use.
    The BEC and the lights over time will drain the lipo past its minimum voltage tolerance and cause issues and possibly lipo fire.
     
  8. Agent69

    Agent69 Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    81
    I like what you've done so far
     
    Cokedriver likes this.
  9. Cokedriver

    Cokedriver Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    123
    Media:
    56
    Likes Received:
    42
    @jaloos the only time I normally leave the battery plugged in is when we go out trailing, cause normally we get bored with the first couple sites we go to (still looking for a good spot or area to spend a few hours at) and this is the reason I tried to go with a "main power" on off switch cause I know the BEC and lights ate on as soon as I plug in the battery.
     
  10. Cokedriver

    Cokedriver Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    123
    Media:
    56
    Likes Received:
    42
    So I've done some searching and I think to achieve what I want the following will work:
    http://peakmodel.kancart.com/item_detail/2676-Twin-Power-Switch-Black-Color#

    From what it looks like everything is done before the receiver so I plug the BEC and the ESC in then plug to receiver (no soldering or wire cutting beings its done with Jr plugs) and I should be able to toggle them on and off.

    What do you think?

    Coke
     
  11. Cokedriver

    Cokedriver Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    123
    Media:
    56
    Likes Received:
    42
    So I got some new photos:

    This is the over view with the switch installed.
    [​IMG]

    Up close look at the switch installed
    [​IMG]

    Here is the switch once I removed it.
    [​IMG]

    The Axial 27t motor I just picked up (might install my other motor has more tops speed but this one has more climbing torque so ill take it out before I switch back)
    [​IMG]

    Added my main locking screw back to my servo as @jaloos suggested
    [​IMG]

    Here is what my wireing box looks like and as you can see were I mounted the BEC. Beings my radio is 2.4g I zip tied my antenna and stuffed it in the box beings I normally will not be more then 50 to 100 feet away from it.
    [​IMG]

    And finally here are some pictures of my driver I installed (it is Cato from the hunger games)
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    First time installing a driver.

    Am looking at the deadbolt body, I notice eBay had skins for them and ive seen they come complete with a driver built in.

    Well that's all for now, since I have tomorrow off I'm going to try to finish my home made links my revo ends finally showed up this week.

    Thanks for looking
    Coke

    EDIT: Oh Yea I also dropped my voltage on my BEC to 6v beings that's all my receiver can handle.
     
    lout and jaloos like this.
  12. Cokedriver

    Cokedriver Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    123
    Media:
    56
    Likes Received:
    42
  13. DRUNKMAR1NE

    DRUNKMAR1NE Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Messages:
    791
    Media:
    85
    Likes Received:
    240
    Yea the deadbolt has drive
     
  14. jaloos

    jaloos Mod, Staff Member and Ghetto Fabricator
    MODERATOR

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,959
    Media:
    133
    Likes Received:
    187

    Make sure the servo is rated for 7.4. Even if it is I suggest trying it at 7 first just to play on the safe side.

    I usually make my own harnesses like that out of a y harness.
    I cut the white wire going to the BEC.
    I cut the red wire going to the RECEIVER.

    Cheaper alternative, you can get 3 of them on ebay for less than 5 bucks usually.
     
    Cokedriver likes this.
  15. jaloos

    jaloos Mod, Staff Member and Ghetto Fabricator
    MODERATOR

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,959
    Media:
    133
    Likes Received:
    187

    Looking sweet man.
     
  16. Cokedriver

    Cokedriver Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    123
    Media:
    56
    Likes Received:
    42
    Yea eventually I will purchase some male and female JR ends and a crimpling tool this way I can make all my wires the correct lengths without having to have them bundled and zip tied together. But for now this was the quickest and cheapest way to get this completed.
     
  17. jaloos

    jaloos Mod, Staff Member and Ghetto Fabricator
    MODERATOR

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,959
    Media:
    133
    Likes Received:
    187

    You can make that harness out of any old Y harness no tools needed.

    I cut the white wire going to the BEC.
    I cut the red wire going to the RECEIVER.
     
  18. Cokedriver

    Cokedriver Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    123
    Media:
    56
    Likes Received:
    42

    LOL you have to have an old Y harness first :p
     
  19. jaloos

    jaloos Mod, Staff Member and Ghetto Fabricator
    MODERATOR

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,959
    Media:
    133
    Likes Received:
    187
    Tru that but any hobby shop will have a wire harness cheaper than 6 bucks and no shipping cost.

    Although looking through ebay they are not allot cheaper either.

    I was getting them off ebay 3 for 5 bucks free shipping at one point.
     
  20. Cokedriver

    Cokedriver Studio Forums Elite
    ELiTE MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    123
    Media:
    56
    Likes Received:
    42
    Eventually I will have the needed equipment for doing this type of RC, I was a track racer and am still new to the scale format. With my other rigs (Losi XXX buggy, Traxxas Slash) everything was just for speed and light weight. Now its about low speeds and torque to get over things and how close can I make it look to real life. So my tools are limited for now but hey ive only been into scale for about 4-5 months so it takes time as everyone knows.

    And again thanks for the tips and advice.

    Coke
     

Share This Page